Prussian & Swabia Heritage -

The Great Interregnum

1254 - 1273

The Great Interregnum of the medieval Holy Roman Empire occured after the death of emperor Frederick II. The German princes, supported by the papacy, profited from the weakness of the last years of Hohenstaufen imperial rule and elected ineffectual kings. The Pope Gregory X, to find support for a new crusade and to secure a counterweight to the king of Sicily, persuaded the princes to elect Count Rudolph of Habsburg emperor in 1273. We are descended from the loser, Alfonso X - King of Leon (see Spanish lineages)  Rudolph I won this rivalry.  Today there is still a very bitter feud between the Hoenstaufens and the Hapsburgs.  




Prussia was, most recently, a historic state originating in Brandenburg, an area which for centuries had substantial influence on German and European history. The last capital of Prussia was Berlin.


The name Prussia derives from the Old Prussians, a Baltic people related to the Lithuanians and Latvians; "Old Prussia" was later conquered by the Teutonic Knights and then slowly Germanized. The union of the Margraviate of Brandenburg and the Duchy of Prussia in 1618 led to the proclamation of the Kingdom of Prussia in 1701.


Prussia attained its greatest importance in the 18th and 19th centuries. During the 18th century, it became a great European power under the reign of Frederick II of Prussia (1740–86). During the 19th century, Chancellor Otto von Bismarck pursued a policy of uniting the German principalities into a "Lesser Germany" which would exclude the Austrian Empire.


The Kingdom of Prussia dominated northern Germany politically, economically, and in terms of population, and was the core of the unified North German Confederation formed in 1867, which became part of the German Empire or Deutsches Reich in 1871.


With the end of the Hohenzollern monarchy in Germany following World War I, Prussia became part of the Weimar Republic as a free state in 1919. Prussia as a state was abolished de facto by the Nazis in 1934 and de jure by the Allies of World War II in 1947.


Since then, the term's relevance has been limited to historical, geographical, or cultural usages. Even today, a certain kind of ethic is called "Prussian virtues", for instance: perfect organization, sacrifice, rule of law, obedience to authority and militarism, but also reliability, tolerance, thriftiness, punctuality, modesty, and diligence. Many Prussians believed that these virtues were part of the reasons for the rise of their country.


Holy Roman Empire


The major dynasty which arose out of the region of Swabia (below are the rulers of Swabia) were the Habsburgs, but also the Hohenzollerns, who rose to prominence in Northern Germany.  They stem from Swabia, as well as the dynasties of the Dukes of Württemberg and the Margraves of Baden. Smaller feudal dynasties disappeared sooner or later, however, for example, branches of the Montforts and Hohenems lived until modern age and the Fürstenbergs survive still. The region proved to be one of the most divided in the Empire, containing, in addition to these principalities, numerous free cities, ecclesiastical territories, and fiefdoms of lesser counts and knights.


Our Terrell Line is a direct line from Charlesmagne, The First Holy Roman Emperor,



   800-814   Charlemagne

   814-840   Louis (the Pious)

   840-855   Lothair I

   855-875   Louis II

   875-877   Charles II (the Bald)

   877-881      (vacancy)

   881-887   Charles III (the Fat)

   887-891      (vacancy)

   891-894   Guido (of Spoleto)

   892-898   Lambert (co-emperor

                   with Guido)

   896-899   Arnulf  -  

                  Saxon & Salian Emperors

   901-905   Louis III (of Provence)

   911-918  *Conrad I (of Franconia)

   915-924   Berengar

   919-936  *Henry I (the Fowler)

   936-973   Otto I (the Great) - see

chart at the top and notes below

   973-983   Otto II

   983-1002  Otto III

  1002-1024  Henry II (the Saint)

  1024-1039  Conrad II (the Salian)




1.  Agatha of Hungary – child of Conrad II m. King Edward the Atheling of England from whom we descend

2.  Louis, the Pious, Lothair I and Louis II - all of whom were French and are our ancestors.

3.  Arnulf - one of our Frankish ancestors

4.  Berengar - from whom we are descended on both the Spanish and French side